Adagio Mode Musical Collective



Sponsored Links
Borodin Aleksandr - Serenade

Aleksandr Borodin ‒ Sérénade (Petite Suite/mov.6)

Free Download
click to download

Aleksandr Borodin ‒ Sérénade (Petite Suite/mov.6)

Guitar transcription made by Francisco Calleja (1891-1950). Aleksandr Borodin [Александр Бородин] (1833-1887) – Petite Suite pour le piano [Маленькая сюита] (Movement 6/7, Sérénade [Серенада]).

Alexander Porfiryevich Borodin (12 November 1833 – 27 February 1887) is a Russian chemist and Romantic musical composer of Georgian ancestry. He was one of the prominent 19th-century composers known as “The Mighty Handful”, a group dedicated to producing a uniquely Russian kind of classical music, rather than imitating earlier Western European models. Borodin is known best for his symphonies, his two string quartets, the symphonic poem In the Steppes of Central Asia and his opera Prince Igor. Music from Prince Igor and his string quartets was later adapted for the US musical Kismet.

A doctor and chemist by profession, Borodin made important early contributions to organic chemistry. Although he is presently known better as a composer, during his lifetime, he regarded medicine and science as his primary occupations, only practising music and composition in his spare time or when he was ill. As a chemist, Borodin is known best for his work concerning organic synthesis, including being among the first chemists to demonstrate nucleophilic substitution, as well as being the co-discoverer of the aldol reaction. Borodin was a promoter of education in Russia and founded the School of Medicine for Women in Saint Petersburg, where he taught until 1885.


Sponsored Links
Click your mind in !
Adagio Mode - Click your mind in!
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Follow on RSS